“TEARS OF A DAUGHTER”

As a journalist, I am first to confess that I am a t/v junkie. From news to documentaries, to cartoons, feature films, talk shows etc, my eyes feast on information that I find interesting or thought provoking. My ears and eyes are always on “standby” and ever ready to inform the public about events unfolding around the world, events that are news worthy. To this, I add the habit of watching tones of comedy as a means of stimulating my mind and mood-I love comedy.
It was on December the 1st in Johannesburg South Africa,  a day the world reminds itself about the devastating effects Hiv/Aids has on the human race; a day communities chock on tears evoked by painful memories of losing loved ones to Aids. It was on December the 1st, the day the world remembers the importance of caring for those affected and infected by a virus sweeping through nations like a wild fire, a day the world remembers the frightening reality that HIV/Aids is indeed a threat to human development as it continues to claim lives of individuals who could contribute meaningfully to society that my t/v viewing brought me to tears…
After listening to a solemn speech marking world Aids Day by South African president Jacob Zuma, I drove back home in a very dark mood, reflecting on the days’ events whilst comforting my heavy heart with music from the late Michael Jackson, “Heal the World.” Yes,  my heart was heavy as my mind dragged me onto memory lane  reminding me of people of all races and position in society whose lives have been lost to  Aids. A lonely lump stood in the passage of my throat,  sure  in my mind why it stood there. With tears clouding my eyes, I knew  why my mood was dark, why tears held my eyes: Aids has stolen  dreams… I cursed death.
 Back home, it was obvious to me that the screen would be flooded with events commemorating world Aids day. Then Lo and behold, one particular Aids programme crept onto the screen and captured my attention completely. In this programme, the host of the show was visiting a gravely ill, bed ridden Hiv/Aids infected mother who had developed multiple opportunistic infections and now had Aids. Her 11 year old daughter had written into the programme a tear jerking letter pleading with the producers  of the show to help her dying mother in any way they can  as she was very ill and unable to bath, let alone feed herself.
As I sat on my bed in front of my t/v set watching the feet of the sick woman being washed, I was moved to tears. Hope had left the face of the ailing woman but her little 11 year old girl seemed to hold up- she was brave, hopeful and courageous.
For me the highlight of the show was this: As I sat there watching this helpless woman in pain and longing for strength and healing, the host who by this time was bathing the ailing woman couldn’t take it anymore. In a flash of a moment, she ran out of the house, broke down and cried loud…The cameras kept rolling but she didn’t care.  All she wanted was to spill her emotions, to cry with this woman as though saying to her, “I see your pain, I feel your pain…”
A chain of thoughts raced through my mind as I watched that show. I came to some important pointers: Let us REALLY care for those infected and affected by AIDS. The t/v host was in no way related to the gravely ill woman yet she was willing to show compassion…
As you read through this post, ask yourself  some questions: what am I doing in my community for those who are sick and poor? Isn’t this the very thing Jesus commanded us to do, to love one another, help the sick and poor and show them compassion? That show to me was epic and stands out in my mind and without any reasonable doubt, it will forever stay in my memory. The t/v host is a classic example of how some people in the community are doing everything to give humanity a human face by reaching out…Ask yourself: what am I doing for the homeless man around the corner whom I have known for years? Ask yourself, what am I doing for the orphans left behind whose parents died of Aids? As credits rolled and closed that show, I knew those were not just “tears of a daughter” crying for a sick woman, those were tears of a young woman who is ready to reach out and make a difference in the lives of those that are helpless and have no shoulder to lean on…

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Phil-HLB Barnett said,

    Tear jerking my girl, tear jerking indeed, well done. But things are looking up in africa now with the distribution of ARVs. Keep writing these stories. am sure you having a fantastic time on your holidays! See you soon in JHB!

  2. 3

    Gandhi Mwangala said,

    Hey Sheria, I remember watching that programme and funny I didn’t call like we always do when there is a gripping programme on tv. This is a sad but thoughtful post and you are 100% right, it comes down to one thing: Let us care for those who are sick and don’t have anyone to look up to. I couln’t help having a lump in my throat myself as I read this. Well done Sheria…

  3. 5

    nelson mbilishi said,

    Very touching indeed.our women really carry the burden of most of the problems in africa.what a difference we would make if we all lent a helping hand.happy holidays

    • 6

      Hey Nelson, thanks for your touching comment and thanks for visiting my blog You 100% right. Women in Africa do a lot to hold the family together. Many thanks for your comment and good to see you! Enjoying your updates on facebook. Regardsx


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment